Home > Quick Tips > Quick Tip – Organize Your Custom 2DAs

Quick Tip – Organize Your Custom 2DAs

Occasionally, there are little tidbits that I run into that really aren’t extensive enough to justify a full tutorial, but the information is still useful. So I thought i’d occasionally post these little “Quick Tips”.

Some AddIns, and definitely larger campaigns, require the creation of multiple custom 2DA files. When you start having to deal with all these worksheets, it can get a little hectic, but here is a nice tip to keep things organized. When you compile your XLS files, the ExcelProcessor doesn’t care what the filename is, or even what worksheets are in what files. It simply compiles one GDA per Worksheet. Use this to your advantage by placing all the worksheets you need to edit into a single XLS file, and naming each worksheet appropriately.

Categories: Quick Tips
  1. nizuri
    November 29, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Thank you for this awesome blog! I’d love to know how are you making progress with your arcane archer mod? Any news on that? I’d really like to hear more about that and maybe even a when. 😉

    • John Vanderbeck
      November 29, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      The Arcane Archer will be my second major mod. Pieces of it have been done already, but its a matter of learning all that I need to do it right. The majority of my modding time right now is spent on the first of my major mods, which has not yet been announced. It is smaller in scale, but still a pretty hefty DLC in its own right. It is being used to map out and learn all the pieces I will need for Arcane Archer. This first mod is scheduled to be released within a month, and then I will be focusing on Arcane Archer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment